2017 Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium

Des Moines, Iowa, USA

The 2017 Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium will convene a fantastic array of international leaders, farmers, agribusiness executives, non-governmental organizations, and development experts to address the most critical issues facing global food security. This year, we honor the entrepreneurial spirit of farmers, and the ability of agriculture to provide health, wealth, and stability at the personal level and at the international level.

Our 2017 Symposium theme, "The Road out of Poverty" encapsulates the power of treating agriculture as a business, and the impact of truly “bringing it to the farmer”, as Norman Borlaug taught us. The theme is drawn from “Africa’s Norman Borlaug”, our 2017 Laureate President Akinwumi Adesina of the African Development Bank who has made it his life’s mission to promote agriculture, good nutrition, and education as the keys to “uplifting millions out of poverty.” President Adesina shared, “As someone who grew out of poverty, I know that poverty is not pretty. My life mission is to lift up millions of people out of poverty, especially farmers in rural areas...We must give hope and turn agriculture into a business.”

Whether talking about physical infrastructure like roads or new pathways in agricultural technology, improved access to nutritious foods or innovative approaches to education and research, the ideas and speakers at the 2017 Borlaug Dialogue will embark us further on the journey toward a hunger free, just world.

Highlighted Speakers Include:

  • Akinwumi Adesina, 2017 World Food Prize Laureate and President of the African Development Bank
  • Samuel Allen, Chief Executive Officer of John Deere
  • Juan Jose Molina Echeverry, Silvo-Pastoral Colombian Farmer
  • Robert Fraley, Executive Vice President and Chief Tech Officer of Monsanto
  • Louise Fresco, President of Wageningen University and Research
  • Erik Fyrwald, Chief Executive Officer of Syngenta International AG
  • Tim Hassinger, President and Chief Executive Officer of Dow AgroSciences
  • Agnes M. Kalibata, President of AGRA
  • April Mason, Provost and Senior Vice President of Kansas State University
  • Ariong Moses, Project Specialist - Agriculture Innovations of One Acre Fund
  • Sithembile Mwamakamba, Climate Smart Agriculture Programs Manager of FANRPAN
  • Emma Nayulima, Ugandan Farmer
  • Salif Niang, Chief Impact Officer of Malo
  • Mojisola Ojebode, Scientist, Founder and Product Developer of Moepelorse Bio Resources
  • Martin Richenhagen, Chief Executive Officer of AGCO
  • Stefan Schmitz, Deputy Director-General of BMZ Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development
  • Ismail Serageldin, Founding Director of the Library of Alexandria
  • Lindiwe Sibanda, Vice President for Country Support, Policy and Delivery of AGRA
  • Tom Vilsack, Former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture and President and CEO of the U.S. Dairy Export Council
  • Victor Villalobos, Director General of the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation in Agriculture

Discussion Topics & Highlights Include:

  • Relationships among conservation, trade, and agricultural productivity in Latin America;
  • Roles of dairy in encouraging global economic development;
  • A global snapshot of fertilizer use and impact around the globe;
  • Biotech research and knowledge transfer in specialty crops;
  • Securing Africa's farming future by fostering young African farmers;
  • New methods for climate-proofing smallholder farms in Sub-Saharan Africa;
  • The transformation of Eurasian and Russian agriculture from famine to feast.

Browse our extensive library of resources to see the Panel's work

See our resources